Exam loading, please wait…

A week ago, I got very excited to hear on http://theaxapta.blogspot.com/2014/12/exam-mb6-704-microsoft-dynamics-ax-2012.html of a new development exam:

MB6-704 Microsoft Dynamics AX 2012 R3 CU8 Development Introduction Certification 

I’ve been waiting oh so patiently for more information! Still I find nothing in the Student Training Materials:

NoResultsFound

But all is not lost. I did find a couple of eLearning courses (80670 and 80671), AND they contain downloads. These downloads include PowerPoint files and “reference materials” which contain “online companion guides.” I have enough to keep me happy for a little while!

To look at the course descriptions, I cannot answer everyone’s burning question: What is the difference between the AX 2012 Development Introduction and the one for CU8? They do look very similar.

So, hang in there… we are slowly but surely getting information on our new certification exam!

Happy DAXing!

About janeteblake

Dynamics AX developer
This entry was posted in AX2012, AX2012 R3, Dynamics AX. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Exam loading, please wait…

  1. - says:

    I’m looking forward to hear what the difference is. Nothing much has happened about the development experience in the product…

  2. malcolmburtt says:

    I’d be surprised if there is much difference at all. What I would like to see is a certification beyond the “Introduction” level. I’m not sure how impressed anyone would be by a consultant that had an “AX 2012 Financials Introduction” certification…it wouldn’t fill me with confidence that they knew what they were doing.

  3. Seth Shaheen says:

    There are training materials for this and other R3 CU8 courses at the new Dynamics Learning Portal: mbspartner.microsoft.com

    But, no, I do not know what the differences are either. There can’t be that many for development.

    • janeteblake says:

      Hi, Seth, and thank you. If you are referring to the eLearning, then yes, I referenced them above. What I’m looking for is a downloadable PDF, as we used to have under Student Training Materials – or has that been disused?

      • Seth Shaheen says:

        You are correct. Only the companion materials are available on the DLP. And the courses there are different than what is available on the PartnerSource E-Learning page.

        If you are referring to the textbook-style materials, I believe they are no longer being created for this and future courses. They are going a different direction because the textbooks are more costly to keep up-to-date.

        Personally, I was pleasantly surprised by how detailed the companion PowerPoint slides were, and I find them to be much more useful than previous resources.

  4. janeteblake says:

    Thank you for the information!!!

  5. malcolmburtt says:

    I’ve had one of my team go off an complete the new exam this week and she reports that it is substantially changed from the old exam with much greater emphasis being put on whether the candidate can read and understand code. That sounds like a huge step in the right direction to me as I can’t say that I put much stock in the old exam. I’ll go and take it myself over the next few weeks so that I have a clearer idea what a developer that’s passed this will have shown that they know.

  6. Deo Narayan says:

    Hi, Did anyone take the exam? Is it quite different from the Introduction one?

Leave a Reply

