Possible bug in DIEF – Opening balances – fixed assets

Back on June 12 of this year, I reported (to MSbugreporter and on this blog here) a bug in the data import export framework. Microsoft was very responsive and published a KB on June 18. (I’m flattered that the KB quotes me liberally 🙂 )

I found another potential bug. I haven’t the time at the moment to track down every detail, so I’m only calling it a potential bug. This one is in the Opening balances entity – when you import a Fixed asset type. The DMFLedgerBalanceEntityClass, which generates a record in LedgerJournalTrans, has a method to generate a corresponding record in LedgerJournalTrans_Asset. However, as far as I can tell, it does not populate the AssetId. So I threw in some code to fill it, and the functional person tells me it works (where it didn’t before).

The symptoms, BTW, were very subtle – go to the journal, line, fixed asset, and the transaction type was incorrect – it was the default type of Acquisition – because there was no _asset record.

Caveat emptor! It worked for me! It may or may not work for you!

Happy DAXing!

And on a personal note… Happy Birthday to my late dad, who inspired and encouraged me.

DIEFBugFixedAssetBalance

About janeteblake

Dynamics AX developer
This entry was posted in AX2012, Bug, Data migration, Dynamics AX. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

